This is the place to visit to see Miguel's 7th year of homeschooling and all his activities

idioms

Read the sentences below. For each idiom:
Define it literally.
Define it as a figure of speech in the context.
Write a new sentence using the idiom.

1. My mother scolded me to bite back my tongue when I boldly asked for more candy.
My mother told me to harm my tongue when I boldly asked for more candy.
bite back my tongue means shut up
I bit back my tongue when I had the urge to yell.

2. My requests for a new car fell on deaf ears. I guess I’ll keep driving the old one.
My requests for a new car became solid and fell on deaf people’s ears.
fell on deaf ears means her requests had been ignored or denied even though she had presented a good argument.
I thought I would become president but I guess my request fell on deaf ears.

3. I was so tired after a long day of unpacking boxes that I decided to call it a day. I’ll finish tomorrow.
he was so tired he did not know what day was called but he remembered it as his own name for it day.
call it a day means he finished working for the day he was so tired.
I was so buisy selling fish that when i was half way through I called it a day.

4. After completing a marathon, a five-mile run will be a bed of roses.
After completing a marathon a five mile run will be a bed made out of roses.
bed of roses means super easy.
I thought that math would be a bed of roses after algebra, I guess I was wrong.

Leave a comment